Life in a shell

bash$ tiagosh

libcurl2opensslsockets

First of all, the best cover ever: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjeMDvCdrtc

No comments. It reminds me Anton Maiden. Don’t you know Anton Maiden? Shame on you.

If you are not a geek, you dont need to continue reading below 🙂

As in AC/DC song: It’s a long way if you wanna… do things in the right way.

libcurl is a great library which provides ways to open and manage sockets and http requests in a simple form. I was using it to help libmsn development, but as I intend to keep libmsn as independent as possible, I’ve decided to use openssl sockets instead of libcurl. The best part is now the code is prepared to handle non-block sockets, even when using ssl connections, which is, in my opinion, a big requirement to not block the whole library (as we can have many sockets alive at a time) when we are requesting something through SOAP, for example.

The code is broken and I’m working to fix it, but I must admit it is a very boring work.

July 28, 2007 - Posted by | libmsn

8 Comments »

  1. Soap? Who likes sopa anyway…

    Comment by Salvador | July 30, 2007 | Reply

  2. I don’t care about libcurl or openssl sockets, but the Final Countdown cover was, er, truly amazing.

    Comment by Claudio Matsuoka | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. Anton maiden is a legend. Keep up the good work with libmsn! I know how boring coding the MSN protocol can be…

    Cheers /Christian

    Comment by Christian | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi Tiago!

    I was working on a MSN bot (I know that there are lot of MSN bots out there, but i wanted to program it just for fun, and to show it to my friends…)

    I was very disappointed by the huge number (freshmeat says 89) of open source projects reimplementing (most of times badly) the MSN protocol… So I searched for a library and all I found was the outdated libmsn.

    It would be great if you can send me (zakk87 at gmail dot com) a snapshot of the modified libmsn you are working on. Maybe I can help with the boring work (I have a discrete experience programming C/C++)

    Thank you for your attention!

    Comment by zakk | August 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hi Zakk,

    first of all, thank you for your contact.
    Probably I’ll release the first version of the modified libmsn very soon. Unfortunately the code is totally broken by now, but I intend to clean up it, update the documentation, and fix some critical bugs during the next week.
    By the way, after the first official release your help would be welcome for sure.
    I only ask you to wait a little bit more. 🙂

    Thank you.

    Comment by tiagosh | August 12, 2007 | Reply

  6. That’s fine… Thank you for your work…

    Comment by zakk | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi! I’m very interested in libmsn, maybe I can work with you 😉 I tried to download it via svn in the official repository, but I don’t know if it is the code you are working on. If so, I hava to tell you it doesn’t compile for me…

    Comment by Ayoze | August 21, 2007 | Reply

  8. Hi Ayoze,

    I’m not developing upstream yet, the code I wrote is still underground. 🙂
    Probably the svn code is broken. The original developer told me that the development is stopped about two years.
    I’m planning to contact Mark Rowe this week and ask him about uploading my source code to sourceforge.
    I’ll really need help to develop and to do some reverse engineering on official msn client, since msnpiki misses some important information yet.

    Thank you, and as soon as turn my modified code official, any kind of help would be welcome.

    Comment by tiagosh | August 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

