Life in a shell

bash$ tiagosh

Kopete and libmsn – 2

Hi,

It’s been a long time I don’t write here, so it is time to update the wlm plugin and libmsn status.
Too much work has been done in wlm and libmsn since the last post. Boiko helped me on porting wlm plugin to kde4 + qt4 (thanks), The avatar management and identity integration was improved, file transfer works better now, some issues with blocking connection were fixed by changing libmsn layout, and so on.

Two weeks ago I sent the source code and the current status of libmsn and wlm plugin to kopete-devel@ mailing list. Some days after this Urs Wolfer and Olivier Goffart from #kopete channel helped me on getting an account in the kde svn and to upload the source code to kopete’s svn playground.
So the new (temporary, I hope) wlm home is here:

http://websvn.kde.org/trunk/playground/network/kopete/protocols/wlm/

Thanks.

September 14, 2008 - Posted by | kopete, libmsn

12 Comments »

  1. I was almost giving up of subscribing this RSS.

    Comment by Vinicius Massuchetto | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. Sorry,
    I’m not a blogger at all. To be honest, I completely forgot this blog. 🙂

    Comment by tiagosh | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  3. Good job!

    I really need to buy a new HD so that I can build KDE on my mac to try it out (and check it is still working).

    Keep on going! 🙂

    Cheers

    Comment by Gustavo Boiko | September 16, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks Boiko, and thank you for helping me in kde4 port. :p

    Comment by tiagosh | September 16, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hi!Compliments for the new “job”!So the kopete team(and matt rogers too,I suppose) decided to not implement anymore msnp15 and to use your plugin instead???

    Comment by Kyashan | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi Kyashan,
    I don’t really know about the internal decisions of kopete team.
    For now, wlm is just a testing plugin, but I hope that in a few time we can have it as the default msn plugin. 🙂
    thanks!

    Comment by tiagosh | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hi,

    Again, i must say that this was something that most people in the community was waiting for. I sincerly thank you for your tremendous effort and i hope that you will keep on maintaining and also spread the lib to pigdin, miranda and others!

    If you need helt on spreading the word let me know!

    Cheers =) /Chris

    Comment by Chris | October 15, 2008 | Reply

  8. […] of Code), but unfortunately I was not accepted. Even this way I decided to keep working on the project that I submitted as my proposal. About two weeks ago I was notified that Google was going to send […]

    Pingback by May the source be with you « A life inside a shell | October 18, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hi Chris,

    thanks a lot for supporting me and reading this blog.
    Every help is appreciated for sure. 🙂

    Best Regards

    Comment by tiagosh | October 18, 2008 | Reply

  10. Thanks for libmsn! I’m already using it on Kopete svn and it’s fine.

    What I like most was the offline message, very useful feature. I hope you can implement audio/video support too in the future 😉 or at least voice clips, like in AMSN. Thanks!

    Comment by Dâniel Fraga | November 16, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hello Dâniel,

    thanks!
    Libmsn already supports voice clips, but there is no way (at least for now) to show them in kopete interface.
    If I figure out a way to do that, I’ll implement it for sure.

    Best regards.

    Comment by tiagosh | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  12. […] Tiago Salem Herrmann has managed to get his libmsn-2 into Kopete, […]

    Pingback by msn-pecan 0.0.17, the beginning of a new era « Webcitizen FelipeC | November 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment